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(407) 665-3226 or SeminoleVitalStatistics@FLHealth.gov

APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD
     Florida Department of Health In Seminole County 

Office of Vital Statistics 
400 W. Airport Blvd, Sanford FL 32773 

All Florida Death Records are available from 2009 to current year 

Read the FRONT AND BACK of this application: Anyone may apply for a death certification. When requesting a death certificate without cause of death or 
if death occurred over 50 years prior to the request, photo ID is not required. When cause of death information is requested and the death occurred less 
than 50 years ago, a valid ID must accompany this application. If a mail in request, a copy of valid ID must be provided. The applicant or person being 
represented must be an eligible person (see eligibility on the back of this form) Relationship to the decedent must be entered in the space provided on the 
botton of this form when requesting cause of death. Funeral Director or an Attorney , see additional information under Eiligibility on the back of this form. 
Acceptable forms of ID are: Drivers License, State Identification, Passport and/or Military Card. 

SECTION A:  DECEDENT INFORMATION 
SUFFIX 

SEX 

SUFFIX 

THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT

 FEE 

The Fee for one certified copy of a Florida Death Record is $10 X = 
The Fee for additional copies  $5 X = 
How many with Cause of Death: _________ 

How many with out Cause of Death: _________ 

DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT) 

NAME OF SURVIVING 
SPOUSE AS RECORDED 
ON DEATH RECORD 

PLACE OF DEATH - CITY PLACE OF DEATH - COUNTY 
PLACE OF DEATH 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida 
Statutes, or on any application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, 

commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 

FEE / ORDERING INFORMATION NUMBER OF COPIES 

FIRST, MIDDLE, LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX) 

AMOUNT DUE 

TOTAL TO PAY →

MAILING ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO., IF APPLICABLE) 

LICENSE/ BAR NUMBER NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED 
Funeral Director/ Attorney as 
Applicant for Cause of Death 

STATE ZIP CODE ALTERNATE PHONE NUMBER CITY 

(IF Known) → 

ACCEPTABLE PAYMENT: CASH*AMEX*VISA*DISCOVER*MASTERCARD*MONEY ORDER*NO PERSONAL CHECKS 

DATE OF DEATH 

LAST 

MONTH 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

SOCIAL SECURITY 
NUMBER (IF KNOWN) 

SECTION B:  APPLICANT  INFORMATION (adult requesting certificate) 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 

STATE FILE NUMBER (If known) 

MIDDLE 

Additional years to be searched 

FIRST 

FUNERAL HOME NAME 

Applicant’s Name 
TYPE OR PRINT 

RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT

FIRST MIDDLE LAST
NAME OF DECEDENT 

DH 1960, 06/2013, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions) 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER ____________________________________________    SIGNATURE_________________________________________ 

CREDIT CARD NUMBER________________________ EXP DATE____________  CVV #___________ BILLING ZIP______________

1 $10
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION 

AVAILABILITY:  Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however, it was many years before we had 
consistent registration.  While there are some records on file dating back to 1877, not all events were registered. 
ELIGIBILITY: 

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a death certification without the cause of death. 

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant. 
1. Decedent’s spouse or parent;
2. Decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;
3. Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of
4. Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above named persons.

Requests for a death certification that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility, or a 
notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH 1959), which is available upon request.  If after reading the 
above information you are still uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-
6900 extension 9000 for assistance. 

A funeral director or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license 
number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing, if requesting cause of death.  If not representing 
someone identified above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of 
Death Information (DH 1959) must accompany this request. SPECIAL NOTE:  Florida clerks of court will not accept a death 
record with cause of death information included when filing probate. 

INFORMATION NEEDED:  A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year of death.  If any of the other 
items requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, 
etc.) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names. 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE:  Applicant’s signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and 
telephone number. 

COUNTY HEALTH DEPARTMENT NAME AND ADDRESS 

Vital Statistics Department 
400 West Airport Blvd 
Sanford, FL 32773 

Monday-Friday 8:00 am - 4:00 pm 
Ph:407-665-3226 Fax:407-665-3059 
SeminoleVitalStatistics@FLHealth.gov 

For Death Records prior year 2009 please visit: 

http://duval.floridahealth.gov 

DH 1960, 06/2013, Florida Administrative Code Rule 64V-1.0131 (Obsoletes Previous Editions) 
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