In accordance with federal and state guidelines, all Florida residents age 16 and older are eligible to receive a COVID-19 vaccine in Seminole County. At this time, residents age 16-17 are only eligible to receive the Pfizer vaccine and MUST be accompanied by a parent or guardian when receiving a vaccine.
To vaccine appointments and proof of eligiblity please visit prepareseminole.org.
Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) is caused by a virus called severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) which has caused a global pandemic. COVID-19 symptoms include, but are not limited to fever, cough, shortness of breath, loss of taste and/or smell, sore throat, and fatigue (full list of symptoms are available on the CDC’s COVID-19 Symptoms website). Since the start of the pandemic, tens of millions of infections and over one million deaths have been reported globally.
Healthy Reminders for the Holiday Season
Visit the CDC's website for more tips
Public Health Response
The Florida Department of Health is working closely with the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic by creating guidelines based off the latest available scientific knowledge of SARS-CoV-2. Case investigators, contact tracers and epidemiologists are working every day to stop the spread of COVID-19. To learn more about COVID-19 and SARS-CoV-2 and to see the latest case counts and other epidemiological data, please visit the below websites:
For specific Seminole County information please call the Seminole County Citizens Information Line at (407) 665-0000.
Seminole County will administer vaccines in accordance with the State of Florida’s Executive Order 21-62 of prioritized groups as well as federal guidelines, which are presently as follows:
Residents / staff in long term care facilities;
Persons 60 years and older;
Health care personnel with direct patient contact;
Employees of educational institutions;
Sworn law enforcement officers 50 years of age and older;
Firefighters 50 years of age and older; and
Individuals under 65 with approved documentation from a physician, deeming them to be extremely vulnerable to COVID-19. The attached form will be required as proof of extreme eligibility.
For vaccine appointments and proof of eligibility please visit www.prepareseminole.org
Types of COVID-19 Tests
There are two types of tests available for COVID-19: viral (nose or throat swab) and antibody (blood). The antibody test cannot be used to diagnose COVID-19. For more information about these two types of tests, visit the CDC COVID-19 Testing Overview website.
Find & Register for COVID-19 Testing in Seminole County
COVID-19 testing has been made widely available across public and private sectors in Seminole County to ensure accessibility and availability to the general public. To locate a testing site in Seminole County, please visit the Prepare Seminole website.
Isolation & Quarantine
When someone tests positive for COVID-19, the CDC and Florida Department of Health recommend that the individual stays home (isolation) until they have met the criteria to discontinue home isolation.
When someone is directly exposed to someone who tested positive for COVID-19, the CDC and Florida Department of Health recommend that the individual stays home (quarantine). For more information on quarantine, visit the CDC COVID-19 When to Quarantine website.
For more information on what to do if you are sick or exposed to COVID-19, visit the Florida Department of Health COVID-19 Response website and see the below infographics:
If you or someone you have been in contact with has tested positive for COVID-19.
Si usted o alguien con quien has esta enfermo con COVID-19.